Democratic Party Still Seeking Nominees For 2008 Eleanor Roosevelt Awards

Sep 14, 2008

Deadline Friday, September 19
MADISONThe Democratic Party of Wisconsin announced today that it is still seeking nominees for its 10th Annual Eleanor Roosevelt Tribute Awards.  The deadline is Friday, September 19, 2008.

Held every year since 1999, the Eleanor Roosevelt Tribute honors women in Wisconsin who have displayed a commitment to Democratic causes and engagement in social activism. The event also pays tribute to the legacy of former First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, who dedicated herself to enhancing the role of women in politics and government and improving the lot of the underprivileged. 

The Democratic Party of Wisconsin is seeking nominations of women in four categories:

  • Grassroots Activist
  • Local Elected Leader (municipal, county, or legislative)
  • Marlys Matuszak Statewide Impact Award
  • Rising Star

Nominations should include the name and contact information of the nominee (including e-mail address), the category for which she is being nominated, and a 500 word or less statement on why the nominee should be a 2008 Eleanor Roosevelt Award Winner.  All nominees will be invited to and recognized at the Eleanor Roosevelt Tribute, which will be held in October 2008. More details on the time and location of the event, including this year’s keynote speaker, will be announced at a later date.

To nominate a woman, please fill out the nomination form on the DPW website at and return it to: 

Democratic Party of Wisconsin
Attn: KJ Hansmann

222 West Washington Ave., Suite 150
Madison, WI53703

Nomination forms can also be emailed to KJ Hansmann at

Past award winners include:

  • Grassroots Activist Category:  State Sen. Kathleen Vinehout, Linda Farley, Martha Love, Marlys Matuszak, Gretchen Lowe, Jill Berke, and Janice Tobak
  • Local Elected Official Category:  former State Rep. Becky Young, Susan Greenfield, Eunice Boyer, Melissa Schroeder, former State Rep. Shirley Krug, Dorothy Lenard, and Rep. Tamara Grigsby
  • Statewide Impact Category:  State Superintendent Elizabeth Burmaster, Dane County Executive Kathleen Falk, Esther Leah Ritz, Congresswoman Gwen Moore, past Democratic Party of Wisconsin Chair Linda Honold, Ingrid Ankerson, and Dian Palmer
  • Rising Star Category:  Kira Brenner
  • Lifetime Achievement Category:  Activist Bonnie Joseph and Marlys Matuszak