U.S. Rep. Baldwin Named Honorary Co-Chair of Inauguration

Dec 21, 2008

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, the 2009 Presidential Inaugural Committee announced that Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) is among a distinguished group of Americans named honorary co-chairs for the Inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama and Vice President-elect Joe Biden.

In keeping with the President-elect’s commitment to an inclusive and bipartisan Inauguration, the list of honorary co-chairs includes members of the President-elect and Vice President-elect’s immediate families as well as prominent Americans from both sides of the aisle who have dedicated their lives to selfless service to their fellow citizens.

“I’m grateful to these distinguished men and women for agreeing to serve as honorary co-chairs for the Inauguration,” said President-elect Obama. “Each of these leaders has a proud record of service to our country and an unwavering commitment to bipartisan cooperation. They exemplify the spirit of unity and shared purpose this Inauguration will reflect.”

“It’s a great honor to be named an honorary co-chair of the Presidential Inauguration,” said Congresswoman Baldwin. “Every Inauguration holds special significance, but the swearing-in of Barack Obama as President marks a turning point in American history. It’s a privilege to have a role in this historic event,” Baldwin said.

The Honorary Co-Chairs for the 2009 Presidential Inauguration are:

President Jimmy Carter
President George H. W. Bush
President Bill Clinton
Mayor Adrian Fenty
Senator Dick Durbin
Senator Dick Lugar
Senator Claire McCaskill
Representative Tammy Baldwin
Representative Artur Davis
Representative Ray Lahood
Representative Linda Sanchez
General Colin Powell
Hunter and Kathleen Biden
Craig Robinson
Maya Soetero Ng

For the latest information on the 2009 Presidential Inauguration, please visit www.pic2009.org.